While Flickr welcomes a wide range of artistic expression, moderate and restricted content is limited to Flickr Pro subscribers only.
If your Free account is determined to contain moderate or restricted content, your account will be temporarily placed into a suspended state.
The following is a general guide to Safety Levels:
- Safe - Acceptable to a global, public audience. Think of what would be appropriate for public viewing in any setting.
- Moderate - Partial nudity, like bare breasts and bottoms. This would include areolas, nipples, thongs, nipple covers/pasties, or see through topless nudity.
- Restricted - Full-frontal nudity and sexual acts. This would include genitalia, pubic hair, full-frontal nudity, imagery depicting/insinuating sexual activity, gore, graphic violence, and adult themes. (Photos only – videos cannot contain restricted content and are deleted if reported.)
Please note, that censored images using pixelation, blurring, shapes, etc. would still be considered unsafe content and needs to be moderated appropriately.
For more information regarding Safety Levels, see here.
What happens to my account when it is suspended?
- Your content will be viewable only to you as the logged-in account owner. Other members will not be able to see your photos. While your profile will still be searchable, your photos will be hidden from public view.
- Your comments will not be displayed.
- You will not be able to add new photos to groups. Group admins will not be able to see your photo submission.
- You will still be able to upload safe content, comment, fave, and send or receive FlickrMail.
- Any existing group photos will be hidden from public view.
- Other members will not receive notifications of your activity.
How do I remove the suspended state from my account?
You will need to contact our Trust and Safety team to remove the suspended state from your account after doing one of the following:
Once you have brought your account into compliance, you can contact our Trust and Safety team here.
How do I locate the moderate or restricted content on my account?
For steps please see our How to locate non-public and/or moderate or restricted content on your Flickr account article.
With a Free account, can I still view and favorite moderate and restricted content?
Yes, you will still be able to view and fave moderate and restricted content.
Note: If your login ID is based in Singapore, Hong Kong, India, Korea, or is with Maktoob.com, you'll only be able to view safe content based on your local Terms. This means you won’t be able to turn SafeSearch off.
If your login ID is based in Germany or Romania, you are not able to view restricted content due to your local Terms.
How do I report a Free account that has moderate or restricted content?
For all the ways on how to report abuse, please view our Help Center article here.
For more information about these changes, check out our blog post.